O'Reilly Week in Review Podcasts

A weekly roundup of news and opinions from O'Reilly Media. Includes excerpts of interviews with news-makers in the world of technology, previews of upcoming events, a good dose of humor, and a weekly trivia quiz that can score you a book out of the O'Reilly catalog. Sweet!

O'Reilly Week in Review for June 1st, 2009
This week, we have a chat with John Viega, co-editor of Beautiful Security, the latest book in O'Reilly's "Beautiful" series, about what makes security beautiful, as well as what steps consumers and enterprises need to take to be secure these days. When asked how to make security beautiful, Viega explains, "Security is not beautiful in the same way code is, it's often a lot of grunt work... the idea behind beautiful security is more that it's beautiful when you can actually provide someone an experience that's both secure and easy to use." Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for May 25th, 2009
This week, we talk to Damien Stolarz, author of iPhone Hacks, about how hackable the iPhone really is. According to Damien, it's a great platform for developing your own personal applications, even if you never want to sell them in the iTunes store. We also chat with Andrew Stellman and Jennifer Greene about Beautiful Teams, and why personality can be more important than what processes you adopt. Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for May 4th, 2009
This week, we talk to Tim O'Reilly about how Twitter has dealt with the Swine Flu panic, Make publisher Dale Dougherty about the new interest in the Maker culture, and our usual podcast quiz question.... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for April 20th, 2009
This week, we have an extended conversation with Googler Andy Hertzfeld about his latest Google Labs creation, the News Timeline. And, as usual, the O'Reilly Podquiz, that can win you a free O'Reilly Book.... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for April 13th, 2009
This week, we have interviews from Yahoo! and MIT, both previewing talks at Where 2.0. There's also a new podquiz, this week dealing with Microsoft's poor sense of direction, literally...... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for April 6th, 2009
This week, we hear from two of the speakers who will be talking at Where 2.0, one on alternative means of sensing our environment, one on telling stories through mobile devices. There's also the answer to last week's quiz, and... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for March 29th, 2009
This week, we talk to Eric Gunderson about opening up access to government data, and the mashups you can create once you do. Editor Andy Oram discusses what open Cloud Computing might look like. And, of course, we have last week's podquiz answer, and a new one that can win you a free O'Reilly book. Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for March 23rd, 2009
This week's podcast features a chat with Brady Forrest, who organizes conferences for O'Reilly, about the upcoming Where conference, and what's happening with geo-aware technology in general. Brian Aker, MySQL guy for Sun, talks about the possibility of MySQL becoming part of the IBM product line. We have the answer to last week's quiz questions, and a new question that can score you an O'Reilly book. Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for March 16th, 2009
This week's roundup include discussion of the Sun/IBM rumors, the future of newspapers, Microsoft and Science Commons teaming up, and the weekly podcast quiz.... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for March 9, 2009
This week's show features a followup with Andrew 'bunnie' Huang about factory conditions in China, the O'Reilly editors talk about jailbreaking iPhones, and this week's podquiz, your chance to win a free O'Reilly book. Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for March 2nd, 2009
This time around on Week in Review, the Gang of Editors discusses the shrinking IT salary landscape, we hear an excerpt of an interview about the Terry Childs cybercrime case, and there's a new chance to score a free book... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for February 23rd, 2009
This week, the O'Reilly editors discuss how the new stimulus package may effect the alternative energy industry, we hear an excerpt of an interview with virologist Dr. Nathan Wolfe, and get a new patent-related podquiz question to puzzle over.... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for February 16th, 2009
This week's podcast includes a roundtable discussion by the editors of Microsoft's new retail initiative, excerpts of an interview with Andrew "bunnie" Huang about product design in China, as well as the weekly podquiz, your chance to score a free O'Reilly Book. Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for February 9th, 2009
This week's podcast features a round table discussion by some of the O'Reilly editors of how the Obama administration is making use of the Internet, an excerpt of an interview with LCD display maven Mary Lou Jepsen, and the weekly... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for February 2nd, 2009
This week's podcast features tip on using Mercurial, an update from Matthew Russell on his Building Community book, the answer to last week's quiz and a fresh new FSF-related quiz question.... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for January 26, 2009
This week's podcast has excerpts from interviews with Craig Newmark of Craigslist and Linux Device Driver Guru Greg-Kroah Hartman. There's also a audio tour of the O'Reilly web site, and a new podquiz that can score you a book from... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for January 19, 2009
This week's podcast has interviews with SF writers William Hunt and Lawrence Watt Evans, commentary on the technological thrust of the new Obama administration, and the weekly quiz.... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for January 12, 2009
This week's Podcast has tech tips from two O'Reilly authors. You'll learn about a nifty replacement for 'grep', and how to keep Wordpress up to date using Subversion. There's also a new quiz, your chance to win a free O'Reilly... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for Jan 5th, 2009
This week's podcast has a commentary from editor Kurt Cagle on the potential opportunities that this year could bring, a conversation with Tim O'Reilly about ways the SEC could leverage search technology, the answer to last week's quiz and a... Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for December 22, 2008
This week's podcast looks back at an interview we ran with physics rapper Katherine McAlpline in the fall, as well as announcing our first podcast quiz winner, and the new quiz question, that can win you your choice of any in print O'Reilly book. Read more.
O'Reilly Week in Review for Dec 15th, 2008
This week's (delayed) podcast includes excepts of interviews with Dr. Joshua Wurman about storm chasing and Professor Rich Gordon about the adoption of the web by traditional print media. There's also a new quiz question (your chance to win free O'Reilly books!) Read more.
The Best of O'Reilly - Now Available in Podcast Form
This week's episode includes excerpts of interviews with our JRuby authors and climatologist Andrew Weaver, as well as news of the SCO lawsuit and this week's quiz question. Now, for your listening pleasure, we present "O'Reilly Week in Review", a roundup of the best content from the site, as well as good-natured pokes at the industry and a trivia quiz that can score you your choice of books from the vast O'Reilly catalog. Read more.

News Topics

Recommended for You

Got a Question?