Writing Beyond Tech: New Ruin Mist Book

By William Stanek
May 11, 2010

Rise of the Fallen, the first book in the Ruin Mist: Dawn of the Ages series, releases/released on May 11, 2010 in hardcover. Although set in the fantasy universe of Ruin Mist, the book is very different from the previously published Ruin Mist books. For starters, the story takes place in an earlier age and assumes no prior knowledge of the world or its characters. This means readers new to the books and current readers can pick up the book, start reading, and enjoy the story.

In fact, Rise of the Fallen goes back to Ruin Mist's earliest beginnings. Long-time readers finally get to live in the era of titans and dragons, and get to see the rise of the greatest heroes and villains of Ruin Mist's darkest ages.


The book tells the story of Rastín and his people. For thousands of years the ageless masters have ruled the hundred worlds, conquering all who oppose them while raising those who bring them glory. But in remote Karthold, Rastín struggles to keep alive the memories of his fallen people and fulfill the wishes of his ailing father. For an Alv he is young; he has no great power to help him, no true magic to light his way and keep him safe. Yet as his life turns increasingly grim, he must find the courage and resourcefulness to befriend his most savage enemies if there is to be hope for him and his people.

The 65,000-word novel is 254 pages in hardcover. The story takes readers to strange new worlds and introduces many new peoples. Release dates and information for the book's various editions include:

Deluxe Hardcover, May 11, 2010

Trade Paperback, May 25, 2010

Paperback, June 22, 2010

Library Edition Hardcover, Aug 9, 2010

Thanks for reading! Hope you'll give the book a read! You also can read a free mini-ebook preview of Betrayal (A Daughter of Kings Comic #1) at http://dragons.reagentpress.com/.

You might also be interested in:

News Topics

Recommended for You

Got a Question?